Between a Rock and a Hard Place: My Two Cents (And Some Honest Questions) About the Immigration Crisis

Until a few years ago, I didn’t watch or read the news regularly. When I was a teenager, I decided it wasn’t worth knowing what was going on because it was all so depressing. (This was right after the U.S. invaded Iraq.) When I was out of college, I decided it was important to know what was going on, but I still didn’t like watching or reading the news because my opinions on politics are so all-over-the-board that I don’t really identify with a specific party. I was also sick of all the bickering that ensues whenever there’s some major hoopla going on.
So I avoided the issues.

I’m starting to realize that avoidance is my main MO and it’s causing a lot of needless suffering. (More on this in another post.) So rather than avoid issues because other people can’t talk about them respectfully, I am going to take the plunge and talk about a current issue as constructively as I know how. If other people can’t discuss this rationally, that’s their funeral.

I’m going to be honest: I see both sides of the current immigration issue. I absolutely believe that everyone should be treated with decency and respect, whether they are here “legally” or not. It’s rude to refer to someone as an “illegal.” The conditions in deportment centers are an abomination. I’m not arguing with any of those points. But that being said, I’m not sure allowing them to stay is a viable solution, and I’m saying this from a humanitarian standpoint. If they can’t obtain citizenship or resident alien status, isn’t that going to drastically limit their options for the future? And the U.S. isn’t exactly in the best financial shape right now. How can we care for all these people when we’re not doing a great job of taking are of ourselves? These questions don’t have easy answers, but they’re still important questions to ask, and I wish more people weren’t afraid to discuss these questions honestly and respectfully.

Leave a Reply

