Love/Hate Update

Love/Hate Update 11/8

Love:

-”Poirot”. If you haven’t seen it, you need to!

-”The Big Bang Theory”. Rock, paper, scissors, lizard, Spock!

-The fact that the hubby and I are sloooowly unearthing the living room under all the boxes

-my fabulous red converter mittens

Hate:

-Orthodontia. I’m 26, and I would love to lose this classic hallmark of adolescent angst, but nope. My teeth are strong-willed and free-form enough that I will probably be wearing my dental device of torture every night as long as I’m hanging out on this side of eternity. I don’t care what the dentist tells me, it is not a “standard upper Hawley retainer.” It’s a dental device of torture. Let’s call it what it is, people! If at some point I lose the battle for the separation of teeth and another set of metal railroad tracks, I’d totally be able to walk into a high school and be mistaken for a student. Gah.

-when people complain excessively about having colds. I’m still trying to figure out how much I want to share publicly about my health issues, but I’ve been through enough that my patience for people’s complaints about colds is nonexistent. If you get this bent out of shape over a cold, you wouldn’t last ten seconds in my life, I can tell you that right now.

-just about everything involving Kiera Knightley. She recently posed topless in the name of feminism. That’s a surefire way to stay off my good side. I will be blogging more about this in the future because this is about as backwards as it gets.

-feeling like I have to justify all the ups and downs in my spiritual life over the past year or so. I have all these questions and ups and downs because I actually use my brain and think about stuff.

Okay, I think that’s about it. Have a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “Love/Hate Update

  1. *BBT- one of my fave shows. I heart Sheldon. Also grew up on BBC mystery/drama shows, my mother is totally an Anglophile.

    *I don’t know what your original situation was with teeth (I had a major overbite & a gap between my teeth, had braces for 4 years at least, plus these stupid metal stick things that connected together & came apart if I opened to wide (Hearst appliance?) Was supposed to wear a retainer for perpetuity but it feels weird wearing it when I kiss, and it’s my mouth dammit. Unless it’s actually medically necessary- Dan & I have decided there are more important things for our hypothetical kinder than the American obsession with perfect teeth.

    *I can be whiny when I’m sick, but I’m trying to be more conscious of that- for one Dan has a couple of health issues, and he mostly stoically suffers thru them in silence. Needs more support! He also is on a immuno-suppressant.

    *Re: Keira-http://www.cracked.com/article_16587_hollywoods-5-saddest-attempts-at-feminism.html
    Being a female warrior & “sexual empowerment” does not feminism make.

    *I just in general respect people who think for themselves, regardless of the religious or philosophical context. There’s not enough of that in the world, and some people will find it threatening, but it’s their loss.

Leave a Reply

