Love-Hate Relationship

Sorry I’ve been so incommunicado. Health stuff has been kicking my butt yet again. There is so much I want to say about the stigma of physical illness and traditional medicine, but that will have to wait until I know which end of me is up.

I’ve been doing the “Love/Hate updates” when I want to write but have no idea what to write about. But lately I’ve been thinking about the things that I both love and hate at the same time, so without further ado, here is my List of Things I Both Love And Hate:

1.) My Hair

I love how it’s finally growing back after I lost a bunch of it to a medical treatment for my endometriosis. I hate how indecisive I am about how short I do or don’t want to cut it while the rest of it grows back. I hate how thick and rebellious it is. I could really relate to Merida in “Brave”, let’s put it that way.

2.) The mind-body connection

I love how practicing mindfulness has a positive effect. I hate how emotional stress kills my appetite and makes me want to toss my cookies.

3.) Traditional medicine

I love how my odds of dying of smallpox, scarlet fever, whooping cough, polio, etc, is slim to none. I love how there are more treatment options available than ever before. I hate it when doctors don’t admit they don’t know something. I also hate it when people who don’t know anything get paranoid about side effects when they don’t understand that sometimes diseases themselves are worse than side effects.

4.) Alternative medicine

I love how some alternative treatments can reduce my use of pain meds and other traditional treatments. I really love herbal tea. It’s my new coffee, since I can’t have coffee anymore. I hate how under-researched alternative medicine is. I hate that many doctors shun it simply because they don’t understand it and get all hung up on “non-FDA approved” and whatnot.

5.) Asthma meds

I love how they help me breathe. Breathing is a really really good thing. You don’t fully appreciate it until your lungs cop an attitude. I hate how every inhaler out there tastes like burnt rubber. We’ve created vaccines, invented lightbulbs, put people on the moon, and yet we still haven’t invented an inhaler that doesn’t taste like burnt rubber. Go figure!

Okay, that’s about all I have energy for today. Hope you’re all having a wonderful Thursday!

One thought on “Love-Hate Relationship

Leave a Reply

