Love/Hate Update 1/22/16

This is going to be a really quick update.  It’s been quite a week: Fluctuating temps, high pain levels, car repairs, a phone that is rapidly going to the surplus shop in the sky, and I’m probably leaving something out.

Anyhoo, here we go.

Love:

-St. Terese.  I will probably piss off a lot of Protestants by saying this, but the saints have become spiritual ancestors for me, especially St. Therese.  Had she been alive today,  she may have been diagnosed with some of the conditions I have.

-Lewis Carroll’s “Alice in Wonderland.”  The book, not the Disney movie.

Hate:

-The disdain that many people have for the more liturgical, traditional denominations.  I don’t deny that there have been some unfortunate issues in Catholic churches, but there are many evangelical/contemporary denominations that are rife with corruption as well.

2 thoughts on “Love/Hate Update 1/22/16

  1. It’s tricky to figure out a balance between worrying about what other people think too much, and not caring at all. I think you strike a pretty good balance. Re: Saints I know some Protestants have a lot of respect for saints. They do have some sort of formal status in the Episcopal/Anglican church. Heck, I view some of them + Jesus and Mary as spiritual ancestors, and I’m a polytheistic Druid. I need to actually read Alice. Re: Liturgical/traditional- Humans are sensual creatures. Many of us need smells/bells/ritual, if it’s only wordy & intellectual, people will fill those needs elsewhere, say rock concerts.

    1. Yes, many Anglicans and Episcopalians have more appreciation for the saints. In my experience they have a wide variety of opinions on the subject, everything from appreciation to praying to them. Honestly, I’m not sure what I think about the idea of praying to them at this point. I haven’t ever done it myself, but I’m much less opposed to the idea than I used to be. My relationship with Catholicism is beautiful and complicated. I really need to write a post about it!

      Yes, humans are physical beings, and that is one of the things I appreciate about liturgical churches. Contrary to popular belief, the icons and figures are not worshipped in themselves, rather, they help people connect to G-d. I use frankincense essential oil as a facial moisturizer, and the smell is extremely comforting to me. It reminds me of the positive experiences I have had in liturgical churches.

Leave a Reply

