A Big Bang Theory-Style Review of My Week

I thought I would share a few highlights from the past week.  I had a ton of fun writing my last Big Bang Theory-style post in December, so I wanted to write another one.  Here ya go!

The Fitbit Miscalculation:

I’ve been using a Fitbit most days for several months.  (I’ve been asked why I don’t wear it on days I’m using my wheelchair, and that’s because it counts wheeling as steps.)  I love this thing.  I’ve been able to track my sleep and set step goals.  Well, one day the count seemed abnormally high by my usual standards.  Like, more than double my normal average.  I got an email notification saying I’d earned a badge, and I could not figure out what was going on.  After practicing piano, I figured it out:  The fitbit was tracking the wrist movements of piano and cello playing!  Huzzah for killer finger workouts!

The Abominable Misjudgment:

The hubs and I have been LOVING “Sherlock.”  I even knitted a Sherlock doll once, because give me one good reason why Benedict Cumberbatch shouldn’t be immortalized in yarn!  The most recent episode is set in Victorian England, just like the original books, and it’s called “The Abominable Bride.”  It was amazingly well done!  However, agreeing to watch it after dark proved to be an abominable misjudgment on my part, let me tell you!  I am so ridiculously jumpy.  You’d think I would have learned my lesson after watching the 25th anniversary Albertville Hall production of “Phantom of the Opera” alone on a stormy night in October, but apparently not!

The Sal-Gar Recollection:

I went in for a dental exam a few months ago, and it was suggested that I use this prescription mouthwash stuff.  (My fibro and fibro meds make my mouth drier than the movie “Doctor Zhivago”.)  Between work stuff, health stuff, and ranting about corrupt politicians, I completely forgot about ordering the mouthwash.  I couldn’t for the life of me remember the name of it, but I remembered that it had the name “sal” in it.  I wracked my brain and decided that “sal-gar” sounded about right, so I gave the dental office a call.  “Sal-gar” sounded familiar, but I couldn’t remember where I heard it.  After I called them and got it sorted out, it hit me that “sal-gar” was the combination of salt and sugar that Leslie Knope (played by Amy Poeler) put on her pasta in “Parks and Recreation.”  Turns out I was pretty close.  It’s called Nutrisal which is probably better for teeth than coating them in salt and sugar.  (Side note #1: if you haven’t seen “Parks and Recreation”, you need to.  Side note #2:  I want a mini horse.  If you’ve seen “Parks and Recreation”, you will get that reference.  If you haven’t seen it, watch it pronto so then you will get the reference and also want a mini horse!)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

