BEDS Day 3: Middlemarch Madness!

I’m doing my first read-a-long with Rincey Reads on YouTube.  For the month of August she chose George Eliot’s “Middlemarch.”  I’m only just getting to it now because of the whole spending-summer-in-a-furnace.  If anyone wants to do the read-a-long, you can check out her channel and use the hashtag #middlemarchmadness on Instagram.  I’m not too far into it, but so far I have mixed feelings.  I like the basic premise, but the going is a little slow at times!

I’m also reading “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn,” which I’m doing for another read along for the month of September.    Click here to check that one out!  I read it for the first time in high school and it’s one of my favorites.  It’s a lot more accessible than some classics and it touches on a lot of the social issues that were prevalent amongst working-class families in New York City at the turn of the century.

If you’ve read either “Middlemarch” or “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn,” let me know what you think in the comments!  Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you for Day 4!

Leave a Reply

