BEDS Day 9: My favorite movies

When I was in high school, a friend and I got hooked on making lists of things like favorite books, favorite movies, etc.  We’d make lists on sheets of notebook paper and exchange them to write comments.  (This was back in the pioneer days before text messaging and all :p.)  It was a lot of fun and I thought it might be a great way to generate more posts and hopefully get caught up on BEDS posts.  Today I’m going to make a list of my favorite movies.

1.)  Little Women (1994)

Starring: Winona Ryder, Susan Sarandon, and Christian Bale

My dad bought the movie used on VHS when I was 12.  He had no idea that I would fall completely in love with it!  The tape in the cassette broke the week before I moved out for college.  I bought the movie on DVD to take with me.  That was ten years ago (eek!) and I’ll have to replace the DVD soon.  Little Women follows the four March sisters through all their ups and downs during the Civil War.  It’s such a good movie!  It takes a lot of departures from the book, but it’s very well done.  I love watching it in the fall and winter.

 

2.)  Julie and Julia (2009)

Starring: Amy Adams, Meryl Streep, and Stanley Tucci

This movie follows Julia Child’s journey to cooking fame as well as Julie Powell’s quest to cook her way through “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.”  This movie was what inspired me to create the BEDS challenge.  The lobster scene will never stop being funny!

 

3.)  The Emporer’s New Groove (1999)

Starring:  David Space (Kuzco), John Goodman (Pacha), and Eartha Kitt (Ezma)

Kuzco is an egotistical emporer who has a little mishap and gets turned into a llama.  He embarks on a series of misadventures as he tries to get turned back into a human.  There is no such thing as being too old for Disney movies, and this is by far one of their best hand-drawn animated movies.  If you haven’t seen it, fix that!  You won’t be sorry!

 

4.)  You’ve Got Mail (1998)

Starring: Tom Hanks (Joe) and Meg Ryan (Kathleen)

This is a really good movie for when life is being stupid.  Kathleen is trying to keep her bookstore afloat while chatting online with a business tycoon.  I’m afraid to say too much more than that because I don’t want to give anything away!

 

5.)  Arranged (2007)

Starring Zoe Lister-Jones (Rochel)

Two teachers in an NYC school become good friends, despite the fact that one of them happens to be a Muslim and one is an Orthodox Jew.  It’s so well done, and as a woman who covers, I can relate to a lot of the ignorance and comments the women face.

If you’ve seen any of these movies I would love to hear your thoughts!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

